//new tag to give link attribution window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-41543440-1', { 'link_attribution': true });

National Surfing Championships Head South to Westport in 2022

Share this article

The 59th edition of the New Zealand National Surfing Championships will be staged in Westport in early 2022, the second time the event has been held on the West Coast of the South Island.

The National Championships brings together the best surfers in New Zealand and with the World Surf League Regional Qualifying Series events kicking off in February, the very best Kiwi talent will be available to attend the event.

Taking place from January 10-16, the six-day event brings together the surfing community from all over the country to enjoy a fun week.

“The Nationals is the type of event where we wouldn’t be surprised if a number of participants from 1997 make their way back to Westport with fond memories and take part, most likely in the senior divisions now” commented Surfing New Zealand’s Ben Kennings.

“Not only will they compete, but they will bring their family and children who will carry on the summer tradition” he added.

When the event was last held at Westport in 1997, the event was won by Auckland’s Andrew Robinson and Taranaki’s Heather Dent.

It was a very young local surfer, Jai Earnshaw who stormed to victory in the Under 18 Boys Division.  Earnshaw went on to be one of New Zealand’s most explosive surfers.  He recently returned from Australia and resides back at Westport, scoring an abundance of pumping waves up and down the coast.  Earnshaw will be one of the local hopefuls in the event come January.

Fast forward to 2021 and Billy Stairmand won his eighth national title alongside Gisborne’s Saffi Vette who won her first in the Open Women’s Division.  Both surfers will be out to defend their titles, Stairmand likely only being home for weeks after a four-month stint on the WSL Challenger Series through USA, France, Portugal, and Hawaii.

Westport has a thriving surfing community which is underpinned by the local club Buller Boardriders, who are all eager to bring the even to town.

“It’s been 25 years since the Nationals were last held at Westport and we look forward to welcoming everybody back” said Steve Lee, President of Buller Boardriders.

“Everybody is excited to host the event and have the best surfing in the country take place on our waves.  The event window in early January often provides great conditions and we have plenty of waves for everyone to explore both for the event and whilst free surfing” added Lee.

South Island Surfing Association President, Tania Huria highlighted the opportunity to host the event in the South Island again.

“We are always excited to have the event down here and we want to get behind Buller Boardriders as much as possible, it is great for the community” she said.

“Westport is a great part of Aotearoa and it will be fantastic to show off this part of the country and bring the surfing community into the region after some particularly tough times with recent flooding and the lack of international tourists with the border closed.  West Coast hospitality truly rules” she added.

Gisborne Boardriders will defend the club title which will be hotly contested by several leading clubs from Raglan, Auckland, Mount Maunganui, Christchurch, Dunedin and the hometown Buller Boardriders.  Also up for grabs at the Championships is the Peter Byers Overall Performance of the Event Award.

It is expected that in excess of 250 entries will be received for the event.  A total of 29 divisions will be contested including the premier Open Men and Women plus additional divisions comprising of age groups from Under 14 boys and girls through to Over 60s for males and females and Longboard, Stand Up Paddleboard, Bodyboard and Kneeboard disciplines.

All divisions have a staggered start to the event as per below:

Day 1 – Open men and women, junior boys and girls divisions
Day 2 – Addition of all senior divisions
Day 3 – Addition of longboard, SUP and Bodyboard
Day 4 – All divisions
Day 5 – All divisions plus Kneeboard
Day 6 – All divisions

*Finals for some divisions will be contested prior to Day 6.

Set out below are winners of the major divisions contested for the past five years.

Open Men
2017 – Billy Stairmand (Rag)
2018 – Ricardo Christie (Gis)
2019 – Billy Stairmand (Rag)
2020 – Elliot Paerata – Reid (Piha)
2021 – Billy Stairmand (Rag)

Open Women
2017 – Ella Williams (WGM)
2018 – Raiha Ensor (Mnt)
2019 – Aimee Brown (G Barrier)
2020 – Ava Henderson (Chch)
2021 – Saffi Vette (Gis)

Under 18 Boys Division
2017 – Jonas Tawharu (Mnt)
2018 – Conor McLennan (Chch)
2019 – Caleb Cutmore (Rag)
2020 – Jack Lee (Whakatane)
2021 – Finn Vette (Gis)

Under 18 Girls Division
2017 – Saffi Vette (Gis)
2018 – Elin Tawharu (Mnt)
2019 – Saffi Vette (Gis)
2020 – Ava Henderson (Chch)
2021 – Ava Henderson (Chch)

2017 – Thomas Kibblewhite (Auck)
2018 – Zen Wallis (Piha)
2019 – Jamie Andrews (Tara)
2020 – Ambrose McNeill (Chch)
2021 – Daniel Procter (Gis)

Further Information
For further information on the 2022 National Surfing Championships please contact Surfing New Zealand’s Ben Kennings on 021 2278732 or email benkennings@surfingnz.co.nz.

High resolution action images of the surfing will be available to media free of charge upon request.

Event Hotline
The Surfing New Zealand event hotline is 0211134506.  This will be updated daily at approximately 7am with venue, divisions contested and conditions.

Social Media
Keep up with all the action by following @surfingnz on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.  Use the hashtag #Nats2022 to follow the story.

Surfing New Zealand is proudly partnered by:

Sport NZ
Water Safety NZ



Find Upcoming Events

All upcoming national events and initiatives taking place around New Zealand

Find a Surf School

Get a lesson today. All of our approved surf schools located around New Zealand

Find a Club

Join a boardrider club and become part of the local surfing community

Register For a Course

Become an internationally accredited surf instructor

Major Partners

Community Partners

Industry Partners

Media Partners