//new tag to give link attribution window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-41543440-1', { 'link_attribution': true });

Past Champions – Long, Knee, SUP


 Year Venue Name Women Under 18
1987 Gisborne L Kennings
1988 Mt Maunganui L Kennings
1989 Mt Maunganui L Kennings
1990 Dunedin L Kennings
1991 Piha G Schuker
1992 Gisborne L Kennings
1993 Gisborne/Piha L Kennings
1994 Dunedin J Matthews
1995 New Plymouth J Matthews
1996 Gisborne L Kennings
1997 Westport M Fitzharris
1998 Kaitaia L Kennings
1999 Dunedin B Rasby
2000 Gisborne M Fitzharris
2001 New Plymouth C Anderson D Munroe T Kibblewhite
2002 Raglan M Fitzharris B Anderson D Proctor
2003 Dunedin K Ryan C Lowe D Proctor
2004 Piha M Fitzharris L Parkes D Procter
2005 Opunake M Fitzharris H Dent M Cockayne
2006 Ahipara M Fitzharris W Paul D Barnfield
2007 Taranaki D Kereopa A Jolly D Barnfield
2008 Gisborne J Quinn D Thomas S Guthrie
2009 Piha D Proctor D Thomas Zen Wallis
2010 Gisborne Dylan Barnfield D Thomas Charlie Brown
2011 Dunedin T Kibblewhite H Joynt L O’Neill
2012 Piha T Kibblewhite A Jolly B Poulter
2013 Piha D Procter M Davis S Poulter
2014 Gisborne T Kibblewhite A Poulter J Griffin
2015 Piha T Kibblewhite A Poulter H Hawke
2016 Dunedin Zen Wallis A Poulter S Sands
2017 Piha T Kibblewhite M Davis S Sands
2018 Gisborne Z Wallis S Brownlee G Zame
2019 Taranaki T Kibblewhite G Paul N Fitt
2020 Dunedin A McNeill G Paul N Fitt
2021 Piha D Procter G Paul G Sawyer
2022 Westport J Tyro J Tyro
2023 Piha O Janes E Hungerford J Tyro
Year Venue Name Under 18 Under 16 Under 14 Dropknee Women
1988 Mt Maunganui D Gracey
1989 Mt Maunganui
1990 Dunedin A Bray
1991 Piha A Bray
1992 Gisborne A Bray
1993 Gisborne/Piha G Roebuck
1994 Dunedin K Adams
1995 New Plymouth P Kingsworth
1996 Gisborne D Parata M Wells
1997 Westport J Blair
1998 Kaitaia G Roebuck J Blackwood A Dickson O Ropata
1999 Dunedin D Parata A Dickson A Low R Ropata K Parata
2000 Gisborne J Burt B Meade J Ropata A Newby A Newby
2001 New Plymouth B McKinnon S Wells J Ropata S Plummer Butt J Blackwood L Dombroski
2002 Raglan C Hirst S Sidgrove G Reid L Dombroski
2003 Dunedin L Turner L Turner
2004 Piha F Smith F Smith S Caley Mihi Wells
2005 Opunake G Reid F Smith S Caley M Wells
2006 Ahipara H Middleton F Smith B Subritzsky M Wells
2007 Taranaki J Ferris L Elliot J Ferris P Chapman
2008 Gisborne B McKinnon L Elliot J Ferris M Wells
2009 Piha G Murdoch M Tombleson L Elliot M Wells
2010 Gisborne Ben McKinnon M Tombleson Reuben Quirk Mihi Wells
2011 Dunedin
2012 Piha N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A M Thompson
2013 Piha N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A A Poulter
2014 Gisborne N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
2015 Piha N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
2016 Dunedin N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
2017 Piha N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
2018 Gisborne N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
2019 Taranaki A Bray N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
2020 Dunedin A Lock N/A N/A N/A N/A M Vujcich
2021 Piha A Bray A Lucena
2022 Westport A Lock
2023 Piha
Year Venue Open Women Under 16 Under 14
1973 Westport event cancelled
1974 Piha
1975 Piha/Gisborne
1976 Piha C McDonald
1977 Piha B Hutchings
1978 Dunedin C McDonald
1979 Gisborne J Uffindel
1980 New Plymouth M Trower
1981 Whangarei S Martin
1982 Mt Maunganui M Trower
1983 Christchurch D Morgan
1984 Gisborne G Gardiner
1985 New Plymouth C Reid
1986 Piha G Gardiner
1987 Gisborne G Gardiner
1988 Mt Maunganui M Clark
1989 Mt Maunganui P Anderson
1990 Dunedin C Reid
1991 Piha L Porter
1992 Gisborne R Clark
1993 Gisborne/Piha L Porter
1994 Dunedin G Bell
1995 New Plymouth G Bell
1996 Gisborne G Bell
1997 Westport G Bell
1998 Kaitaia G Bell
1999 Dunedin G Bell
2000 Gisborne G Bell L Luttrell D Hooks K Weir
2001 New Plymouth H Christophers J Kensington D Hooks K Weir
2002 Raglan C McDonald
2003 Dunedin H Christophers
2004 Piha C McDonald
2005 Opunake K Osmand
2006 Ahipara I Walker
2007 Taranaki I Walker
2008  Gisborne L Porter
2009 Piha K Osmond
2010 Gisborne Royden Stewart
2011 Dunedin M Diack
2012 Piha J Andrews
2013 Piha C Hooper
2014 Gisborne K Geiseler
2015 Piha K Weir
2016 Dunedin K Weir
2017 Piha C McDonald
2018 Gisborne C McDonald
2019 Taranaki K Weir
2020 Dunedin M Diack
2021 Piha P Stubbs
2022 Westport
2023 Piha
SUP Surfing Location Men Women King of the Waves
2010 Whangamata L Kennings
2011 Dunedin D Kereopa J Stephenson
2012 Piha S Baxter D Kereopa
2013 Piha D Kereopa A Armstrong
2014 Gisborne S Baxter A Poulter A Armstrong
2015 Piha S Baxter A Poulter A Amrstrong
2016 Dunedin S Baxter A Poulter N/A
2017 Piha T Tunnington S Smith N/A
2018 Gisborne D Kereopa S Smith N/A
2019 Taranaki J Andrews S Smith N/A
2020 Dunedin J Andrews A Wink N/A
2021 Piha S Hovell B Scott
2022 Westport
2023 Piha


Find Upcoming Events

All upcoming national events and initiatives taking place around New Zealand

Find a Surf School

Get a lesson today. All of our approved surf schools located around New Zealand

Find a Club

Join a boardrider club and become part of the local surfing community

Register For a Course

Become an internationally accredited surf instructor

Major Partners

Community Partners

Industry Partners

Media Partners