//new tag to give link attribution window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-41543440-1', { 'link_attribution': true });

Lineups Confirmed for Billabong Rio Pro and Rio Women’s Pro Presented by Billabong

Share this article

Caption: Rio de Janeiro will play host to the fourth stop on the 2014 Samsung Galaxy ASP World Championship Tour, the Billabong Rio Pro and the Rio Women’s Pro presented by Billabong.
Image: ASP/ Kelly Cestari

LOS ANGELES, CA/USA (Thursday, May 1, 2014): The Billabong Rio Pro and Rio Women’s Pro presented by Billabong, Stop No. 4 on the 2014 Samsung Galaxy ASP World Championship Tour (WCT), begins in less than one week on Wednesday, May 7. 

With the Australian leg of professional surfing’s elite Tour now complete, the ASP World Title race is focused on Brazil as the world’s best surfers prepare to compete in the punchy beachbreaks of Rio de Janeiro’s Barra da Tijuca.

The fantastic city-center location offers a breathtaking backdrop to the fourth stop on the WCT. With beautiful people and surfing fanatics aplenty, the rich culture of Rio de Janeiro and spectacular natural setting make this a stop not to miss. The locals’ passion for surfing guarantees great crowds and a lively atmosphere for the ASP Top 34 and Top 17.

Brazil has played host to many ASP events over the past 30 years but 2011 saw the ASP World Championship Tour return to Rio for both the men and women.

11-time ASP World Champion Kelly Slater (USA) has won in Brazil three times, reigning three-time ASP World Champion and current ASP World No. 2 Mick Fanning was victorious in 2006 and 2007 and Jordy Smith (ZAF) is the defending event winner.

Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) posted a win here in 2012, reigning two-time ASP Women’s World Champion and current ASP World No. 1 Carissa Moore (HAW) won in 2011 and Tyler Wright (AUS), current ASP World No. 3, is the defending event winner.

The wildcards for the men’s event are Peterson Crisanto (Parana/BRA), selected by Billabong, and David do Carmo (São Paulo/BRA), 2013 Brazilian Professional Surfing Champion. The women’s wildcard is Silvana Lima (Ceará/BRA). They will compete alongside the ASP Top 34 and Top 17 respectively and complete the fields for the Billabong Rio Pro and the Rio Women’s Pro.

Kai Otton (AUS) has withdrawn from the event due to the birth of his first child. ASP replacement surfer Glenn Hall (IRL) will compete in his place.

The Billabong Rio Pro and Rio Women’s Pro presented by Billabong will be held from Wednesday, May 7 to Sunday, May 18, 2014 and will be webcast LIVE via aspworldtour.com.

Billabong Rio Pro Round 1 Match-Ups:
Heat 1: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Sebastian Zeitz (HAW), Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 2: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Adam Melling (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 4: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Glenn Hall (IRL)
Heat 5: Kelly Slater (USA), Mitch Crews (AUS), Peterson Crisanto (BRA)
Heat 6: Mick Fanning (AUS), Kolohe Andino (USA), David do Carmo (BRA)
Heat 7: Josh Kerr (AUS), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Dion Atkinson (AUS)
Heat 8: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 9: Julian Wilson (AUS), Filipe Toledo (BRA), Aritz Aranburu (ESP)
Heat 10: Nat Young (USA), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Heat 11: Michel Bourez (PYF), Owen Wright (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 12: John John Florence (HAW), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS)

Rio Women’s Pro Round 1 Match-Ups:
Heat 1: Bianca Buitendag (ZAF), Malia Manuel (HAW), Alessa Quizon (HAW)
Heat 2: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS), Coco Ho (HAW), Nikki Van Dijk (AUS)
Heat 3: Carissa Moore (HAW), Pauline Ado (FRA), Silvana Lima (BRA)
Heat 4: Tyler Wright (AUS), Laura Enever (AUS), Alana Blanchard (HAW)
Heat 5: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), Dimity Stoyle (AUS), Johanne Defay (FRA)
Heat 6: Courtney Conlogue (USA), Lakey Peterson (USA), Paige Hareb (NZL)

Find Upcoming Events

All upcoming national events and initiatives taking place around New Zealand

Find a Surf School

Get a lesson today. All of our approved surf schools located around New Zealand

Find a Club

Join a boardrider club and become part of the local surfing community

Register For a Course

Become an internationally accredited surf instructor

Major Partners

Community Partners

Industry Partners

Media Partners