//new tag to give link attribution window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-41543440-1', { 'link_attribution': true });

Day 1 ASP Prime Cascais Billabong Pro Called OFF

Share this article


Pictured: Stormy scene at the main venue of Carcavelos this morning.

Credit: © ASP/Masurel

PRAIA DE CARCAVELOS, Cascais – Portugal (Monday, October 21, 2013) – Small windy surf in the one-to-two foot (0.5 metre) range at praia de Carcavelos forced contest officials to call OFF day 1 of the ASP Prime Cascais Billabong Pro.

Event No. 6 of 8 on the 2013 ASP Prime Series, the Cascais Billabong Pro is set to play an important role in the qualification race towards next year’s World Championship Tour. This event will also conclude the European leg of events and determine our ASP regional Champion.

“We have very small surf on offer this morning and strong onshore winds, so we had to call competition off for the day,” Rob Gunning, ASP Europe Tour Manager said. “This event is crucial to all surfers and we want to make sure we have them surf the best possible conditions we’ll see this week.”

Event organizers and surfers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 8am to re-assess conditions for a possible start of the opening round of competition.

Up first when competition commences will be Filipe Toledo (BRA), Charles Martin (GLP), Cooper Chapman (USA) and Vasco Ribeiro (PRT).

The ASP Prime Cascais Pro is scheduled from October 21-27, 2013 in Cascais, Portugal. For all results, photos, video highlights, press releases and LIVE webcast, log on to aspeurope.com/cascais

The Cascais Pro is supported by the Cascais City Council, Turismo de Portugal, Moche, EDP, Buondi, Allianz, Jogos, Mini, Brisa, Hertz, Comboios de Portugal, TakeOFF, RTP, Cidade FM, FuelTV, Go-S.TV, Jornal i, Surf Onfire, Magicseaweed, Surf Europe and BeachCam among others.


Heat 1: Filipe Toledo (BRA), Charles Martin (GLP), Cooper Chapman (USA), Vasco Ribeiro (PRT)

Heat 2: Willian Cardoso (BRA), Peterson Crisanto (BRA), Evan Geiselman (USA), Ricardo Christie (NZL) 

Heat 3: Mitch Crews (AUS), Matt Banting (AUS), Carlos Munoz (CRI), Steven Pierson (PYF) 

Heat 4: Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Mason Ho (HAW), Ezekiel Lau (HAW), Nic Von Rupp (DEU)

Heat 5: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Jonathan Gonzalez (CNY), Vincent Duvignac (FRA), Jose Ferreira (PRT) 

Heat 6: Aritz Aranburu (EUK), Ramzi Boukhiam (MAR), Thomas Woods (AUS), Yadin Nicol (AUS) 

Heat 7: Marc Lacomare (FRA), Stu Kennedy (AUS), Tim Reyes (USA), Davey Cathels (AUS) 

Heat 8: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Conner Coffin (USA), Garrett Parkes (AUS), Romain Cloitre (FRA) 

Heat 9: Damien Hobgood (USA), Joan Duru (FRA), Ryan Callinan (AUS), Gabe Kling (USA) 

Heat 10: Miguel Pupo (BRA), Maxime Huscenot (FRA), Hodei Collazo (EUK), Cory Arrambide (USA) 

Heat 11: Tomas Hermes (BRA), Jay Thompson (AUS), Vicente Romero (ESP), Marlon Lipke (PRT) 

Heat 12: C.J Hobgood (USA), Tom Whitaker (AUS), Dale Staples (ZAF), Tomas Fernandes (PRT)

Heat 13: Michel Bourez (PYF), Wade Carmichael (AUS), Kiron Jabour (HAW), Ruben Gonzalez (PRT) 

Heat 14: Patrick Gudauskas (USA), Granger Larsen (HAW), Heitor Alves (BRA), Gabriel Villaran (PER) 

Heat 15: Alejo Muniz (BRA), David Do Carmo (BRA), Nathan Yeomans (USA), Gony Zubizarreta (ESP)

Heat 16: Brett Simpson (USA), Nathan Hedge (AUS), Billy Stairmand (NZL), Torrey Meister (HAW) 

Heat 17: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Keanu Asing (HAW), Marco Fernandez (BRA), Cody Thompson (USA) 

Heat 18: Jadson Andre (BRA), Caio Ibelli (BRA), Perth Standlick (AUS), Jack Freestone (AUS) 

Heat 19: Mitchel Coleborn (AUS), Tanner Gudauskas (USA), Chris Ward (USA), Frederico Morais (PRT) 

Heat 20: Travis Logie (ZAF), Jesse Mendes (BRA), Hizunome Bettero (BRA), Nathaniel Curran (USA) 

Heat 21: Adam Melling (AUS), Brian Toth (PRI), Krystian Kymerson (BRA), Kaito Ohashi (JPN)

Heat 22: Raoni Monteiro (BRA), Wiggolly Dantas (BRA), Thiago Camarao (BRA), Michael Dunphy (USA) 

Heat 23: Dion Atkinson (AUS), Beyrick De Vries (ZAF), Messias Felix (BRA), Santiago Muniz (ARG) 

Heat 24: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Dillon Perillo (USA), Jean Da Silva (BRA), Dusty Payne (HAW)

Find Upcoming Events

All upcoming national events and initiatives taking place around New Zealand

Find a Surf School

Get a lesson today. All of our approved surf schools located around New Zealand

Find a Club

Join a boardrider club and become part of the local surfing community

Register For a Course

Become an internationally accredited surf instructor

Major Partners

Community Partners

Industry Partners

Media Partners