//new tag to give link attribution window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-41543440-1', { 'link_attribution': true });

Billy Stairmand Wins the 2018 SprayMarks Kaikoura Cold Water Classic.

Share this article

Raglan surfer Billy Stairmand claimed the final event of the South Island Circuit over Queens Birthday Weekend – the SprayMarks Kaikoura Classic, held at Meatworks just north of Kaikoura.

In the last pulses of a swell that delivered excellent waves for the record 195 entrants in the contest, it was a struggle for the finalists to catch their two scoring rides.

Less than three points separated the third-placed Conor McLennan (Chch), second-placed local surfer Levi O’Connor from first placed Stairmand.

Unfortunately, the stand-out surfer of the event JC Susan from Dunedin couldn’t find himself a wave in the final resulting in a heat total of 4.5 out of 20 and a fourth-place finish.

Ultimately it was World Qualifying Series campaigner and ex-National Champ Stairmand’s superior speed and timing that secured him the $1500 in prize money for the win.

Second-placed surfer O’Connor secured enough points from the event to win his second South Island Circuit Open Men’s title and third-placed McLennan went on a tear two finals earlier for a first placing in the Under 20 Men’s Division.

Other standout performers over the event were Mount Maunganui brother and sister combo Jonas & Elin Tawharu with Elin winning both her respective divisions.

Kaikoura Boardriders’ Dave Lyons and Richard Baxter had a closely fought final in the Grandmasters with Baxter blasting one to the beach for the win.

Dunedin’s Tash Civil won the Senior Women’s Division and Christchurch surfer Myka Black won the Under 16 Boys Division.

Zen Wallis from Auckland made yet another trip south for a first in the longboarding and after his first contest in four years, Westport’s Andrew Beaufort narrowly lost to Dunedin’s Josh Thickpenny in a tight Senior Men’s Division final.

Massive thanks to Kaikoura Boardriders, The South Island Surfing Association and all the sponsors below;

Spray Marks, Gropher Garage, Coastal Sports, Hirepool, New World, Dolphin Encounter, ITM, Bruce Ensor Builders, Chiwi’s Cafe, Groundswell, McCrory Plumbing, ONEILL NZ, Southern Paua, Bean me up, Beach House Cafe, Henry’s, Top Shop, Abby road, Crazy Janes, Kaikoura Bakery, West End diary, Hydro Surf and the Slam Club.

See below for full results from the SprayMarks Kaikoura Classic held at Meatworks from the 1st – 3rd June 2018.

Open Men’s Division
Billy Stairmand, 13.9, 1, Levi O’Connor, 11.6, 2, Conor Mclennan, 11.3, 3, JC Susan, 4.5, 4

Under 20 Boys Division
Conor McLennan, 14, 1, Jonas Tawharu, 12, 2, Elliott Brown, 10, 3, Jack Wilson, 9.6, 4

Under 16 Boys Division
Myka Black, 11.4, 1, Reuben Peyroux, 8.8, 2, Jack Lee, 8.2, 3, Madoc Barclay, 5.7, 4

Over 30 Men’s Division
Josh Thickpenny, 10.07, 1, Andrew Beaufort, 8.9, 2, Ben Rees, 7.7, 3, Dan Gray, 5.3, 4

Over 45 Men’s Division
Richard Baxter, 13.5, 1, Dave Lyons, 8.27, 2, Kim Smith, 6.4, 3, Steev Peyroux, 5.87, 4

Open Women’s Division
Elin Tawharu, 11, 1, Tegen Bishop, 8.9, 2, Tash Civil, 6.5, 3, Shani Ayson, 5.8, 4

Under 20 Girls Division
Elin Tawharu, 11.4, 1, Tegen Bishop, 10.2, 2, Ava Henderson, 5.9, 3, Eve Findlay, 3.6, 4

Over 30 Women’s Division
Tash Civil, 9.9, 1, Ange Reardon, 4.5, 2, Lucy Te Moananui, 3.9, 3, Sarah Armstrong-Park, 1.6, 4

Men’s Longboard Division
Zen Wallis, 12.9, 1, Hugh Ritchie, 8.7, 2, William Wallace, 6.4, 3, Cameron Haylock, 6.3, 4

Stand Up Paddleboard Surf Division
Steev Peyroux, 10.8, 1, Al Te Moananui, 8.2, 2, Lucy Al Te Moananui, 5.8, 3, Tony Gowans, 4.2, 4, Aiden Bonish, 2.07, 5

Find Upcoming Events

All upcoming national events and initiatives taking place around New Zealand

Find a Surf School

Get a lesson today. All of our approved surf schools located around New Zealand

Find a Club

Join a boardrider club and become part of the local surfing community

Register For a Course

Become an internationally accredited surf instructor

Major Partners

Community Partners

Industry Partners

Media Partners