//new tag to give link attribution window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-41543440-1', { 'link_attribution': true });

Stairmand and Wederell Clinch Titles in Hawkes Bay

Share this article

For immediate release

18th December 2017

From:  Surfing New Zealand
Sport: Surfing
Event: Backdoor BayBash – NZ Pro Series (3 star), NZ Grom Series (4 star)
Dates: 16-17 December 2017
Divisions: Open Men’s, Open Women’s, Under 20, 17 Boys and Girls, Under 14 Boys
Location: Te Awanga, Hawkes Bay
Websites: Surfing New Zealand and Backdoor Surf Shop

Stairmand and Wederell Clinch Titles in Hawkes Bay

Raglan’s Billy Stairmand and Mount Maunganui’s Georgia Wederell have triumphed at this weekend’s Backdoor BayBash event held in the Hawkes Bay.

The event was the fifth and final event of the year on the New Zealand Surf Series and also completed the New Zealand Grommet Series for all the age group surfers.

Despite an excellent swell forecast, the final day held at Te Awanga was hampered by tiny waves for much of the day forcing a late start and a period when the event went on hold due to the size of the swell in the middle of the day.

The increase in swell didn’t eventuate until the fading light of the evening when the Open Men’s Division was completed and even then the swell remained well below the 1.0m mark but enough to complete the event.

The small conditions did not take away from the first-class performance of Stairmand who rode to a 14.54 point heat total in the final with his precision forehand surfing along the right-hand point break too sharp for his opponents.

Surfing through three rounds, Stairmand never lost a heat on the way to the final and once there, defeated Taranaki surfer Daniel Farr, Mount Maunganui’s Callum Chuter and local favourite Jeremy Evans who finished second through fourth respectively.

Stairmand had already sewn up the New Zealand Surf Series prior to the final event of the year but he extended his points lead after the result over the weekend.

Georgia Wederell claimed the Open Women’s Division with a last minute ride the pushed Tiana – Breeze de Mooij (Mnt) into second place.  Trailing de Mooij for much of the final, Wederell took off on a small right-hander and rattled off two quick backhand turns to score 4.63 out of a possible 10 points, the score coming through as the final hooter sounded.

It is the fifteen year old’s first win on the New Zealand Surf Series and has pushed her up into fifth place overall for 2017.  Ella Williams (WGM) claimed the overall series by way of her results at the start of the year which included a national title and a win at the Rip Curl Pro at Raglan.

De Mooij finished the final in second place today and fourth overall for the year.  Billie Scott (Whangarei) placed third in the final ahead of Brie Bennett Rag) in fourth.

Taylor Hutchison Rag) won the Under 20 Boys Final with his last minute 6.77 point ride.  The natural footer had been sitting in second behind Jared Gebert (Ohope) for much of the final until his last wave.  Hutchison had already secured the overall New Zealand Grom Series title prior to the event but completed his junior career with an event win and he now moves on to the Men’s Division.

Tiana – Breeze de Mooij couldn’t find a win in the Open Women’s Division but she made up for that with a win in the Under 20 Women’s Division.  De Mooij posted a 12.83 point heat total to comfortably win the final over Brie Bennett (Rag) in second, Georgia Wederell (Mnt) in third and Billie Scott (Whangarei) in fourth.

Under 17 titles went to Jared Gebert (Ohope) and Brie Bennett, Bennett tipping the tables on her opponents in the Under 20s and Open Women’s Divisions for the win.

Tom Robinson (Whangarei) claimed his second win of the year in the Under 14 Boys Division topping overall New Zealand Grom Series winner Kora Cooper (Rag) who finished second ahead of Tom Butland (Tara) and Jayden Willoughby (Rag).

This is the fourth year the Backdoor BayBash has taken place.  The event includes seven divisions with the Men’s and Women’s premier divisions being supported by the New Zealand Grom Series with Under 20, 17 and 14 age groups.

Full results from the Backdoor BayBash completed at Te Awanga today (Sunday 17th December) can be found at www.compusurf.com.au.

Open Men’s Division Final
Billy Stairmand (Rag), 14.54, 1, Daniel Farr (Tara), 11.93, 2, Callum Chuter (Mnt), 10.10, 3, Jeremy Evans (HBay), 9.96, 4

Open Women’s Division Final
Georgia Wederell (Mnt), 8.30, 1, Tiana – Breeze de Mooij (Mnt), 7.9, 2, Billie Scott (Whangarei), 7.57, 3, Brie Bennett (Rag), 5.46, 4

Under 20 Boys Division Final
Taylor Hutchison (Rag), 12.60, 1, Jared Gebert (Ohope), 12.16, 2, Luke Griffin (Mnt), 9.3, 3, Conor McLennan (Chch), 6.5, 4

Under 20 Girls Division Final
Tiana – Breeze de Mooij (Mnt), 12.83, 1, Brie Bennett (Rag), 9.83, 2, Georgia Wederell (Mnt), 9.47, 3, Billie Scott (Whangarei), 7.93, 4

Under 17 Boys Division Final
Jared Gebert (Ohope), 14.17, 1, Lee Ririnui (Mnt), 12.76, 2, Taylor O’Leary (Mur), 12.03, 3, Caleb Cutmore (Rag), 9.97, 4

Under 17 Girls Division Final
Brie Bennett (Rag), 11.83, 1, Tiana – Breeze de Mooij (Mnt), 9.3, 2, Zhana Hutchieson (Tara), 8.17, 3, Georgia Wederell (Mnt), 7.46, 4

Under 14 Boys Division Final
Tom Robinson (Whangarei), 13.6, 1, Kora Cooper (Rag), 10.40, 2, Tom Butland (Tara), 7.90, 3, Jayden Willougby (Rag), 5.96, 4

For more information on the Backdoor BayBash please contact Ben Kennings on 021 2278732 or email benkennings@surfingnz.co.nz.  Alternatively contact Backdoor via Geoff Hutchison – hutch@backdoor.co.nz.

High resolution images will be available to media upon request. Images will be distributed free of charge.

Generous support from Backdoor Surf Shop, Billabong, Rip Curl, Channel Island Surfboards and Hastings District Council has made this event possible.

Follow Surfing New Zealand
Keep in touch with all the surfing info from around the country by following Surfing New Zealand on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and Snapchat – @surfingnz

Event Hotline
The Surfing New Zealand event hotline is 0211134506. This will be updated daily at with venues, divisions contested and conditions.

Surfing New Zealand is proudly partnered by:

Sport NZ


Find Upcoming Events

All upcoming national events and initiatives taking place around New Zealand

Find a Surf School

Get a lesson today. All of our approved surf schools located around New Zealand

Find a Club

Join a boardrider club and become part of the local surfing community

Register For a Course

Become an internationally accredited surf instructor

Major Partners

Community Partners

Industry Partners

Media Partners