//new tag to give link attribution window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-41543440-1', { 'link_attribution': true });

Samsung Galaxy ASP World Championship Tour Readies for Billabong Rio Pro

Share this article

Caption: Jordy Smith (ZAF), defending Billabong Rio Pro champion, will return to Barra Da Tijuca this season for Stop No. 4 on the 2014 Samsung Galaxy ASP World Championship Tour.
Image: ASP/ Daniel Smorigo

LOS ANGELES, CA/USA (Monday, May 5, 2014): 
The Billabong Rio Pro and Rio Women’s Pro presented by Billabong, Stop No. 4 on the 2014 Samsung Galaxy ASP World Championship Tour (WCT), have drawn the planet’s top surfers to the Brazilian beachbreaks of Barra da Tijuca as competition is scheduled to commence this week. 

Following the three-event Australian leg, Brazilian Gabriel Medina and Hawaiian Carissa Moore lead the men’s and women’s rankings respectively in the hunt for the 2014 ASP World Title. Both athletes are being pursued fiercely by the world’s best surfers with Medina battling Joel Parkinson, Mick Fanning, Kelly Slater and Taj Burrow as Moore staves off the likes of Stephanie Gilmore, Tyler Wright, Sally Fitzgibbons and Bianca Buitendag.

The wildcards for the men’s event are Peterson Crisanto (Parana/BRA), selected by Billabong, and David do Carmo (São Paulo/BRA), 2013 Brazilian Professional Surfing Champion. The women’s wildcard is Silvana Lima (Ceará/BRA). They will compete alongside the ASP Top 34 and Top 17 respectively and complete the fields for the Billabong Rio Pro and the Rio Women’s Pro.

Kai Otton (AUS) has withdrawn from the event due to the birth of his first child. ASP replacement surfer Glenn Hall (IRL) will compete in his place.

Courtney Conlogue (USA) has withdrawn from the event following an injury sustained at the Rip Curl Women’s Pro Bells Beach. ASP replacement surfer Tatiana Weston-Webb (HAW) will compete in her place.

Tuesday, May 6, 2014 – 2pm
WHERE: Royalty Barra Hotel
WHO: Carissa Moore, Stephanie Gilmore, Tyler Wright, Alessa Quizon, Mick Fanning, Gabriel Medina, Jordy Smith and Joel Parkinson

The Billabong Rio Pro and Rio Women’s Pro presented by Billabong will be held from Wednesday, May 7 to Sunday, May 18, 2014 and will be webcast LIVE via aspworldtour.com.

Billabong Rio Pro Round 1 Match-Ups:
Heat 1: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Sebastian Zeitz (HAW), Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 2: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Adam Melling (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 4: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Glenn Hall (IRL)
Heat 5: Kelly Slater (USA), Mitch Crews (AUS), Peterson Crisanto (BRA)
Heat 6: Mick Fanning (AUS), Kolohe Andino (USA), David do Carmo (BRA)
Heat 7: Josh Kerr (AUS), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Dion Atkinson (AUS)
Heat 8: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 9: Julian Wilson (AUS), Filipe Toledo (BRA), Aritz Aranburu (ESP)
Heat 10: Nat Young (USA), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Heat 11: Michel Bourez (PYF), Owen Wright (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 12: John John Florence (HAW), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS)

Rio Women’s Pro Round 1 Match-Ups:
Heat 1: Bianca Buitendag (ZAF), Coco Ho (HAW), Nikki Van Dijk (AUS)
Heat 2: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS), Dimity Stoyle (AUS), Johanne Defay (FRA)
Heat 3: Carissa Moore (HAW), Paige Hareb (NZL), Silvana Lima (BRA)
Heat 4: Tyler Wright (AUS), Pauline Ado (FRA), Tatiana Weston-Webb (HAW)
Heat 5: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), Laura Enever (AUS), Alana Blanchard (HAW)
Heat 6: Lakey Peterson (USA), Malia Manuel (HAW), Aless Quizon (HAW)

Find Upcoming Events

All upcoming national events and initiatives taking place around New Zealand

Find a Surf School

Get a lesson today. All of our approved surf schools located around New Zealand

Find a Club

Join a boardrider club and become part of the local surfing community

Register For a Course

Become an internationally accredited surf instructor

Major Partners

Community Partners

Industry Partners

Media Partners