//new tag to give link attribution window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-41543440-1', { 'link_attribution': true });

Lay Day Called on Day 3 of Soöruz Lacanau Pro.

Share this article

Jeremy Flores (FRA) suffered a narrow loss to Brett Simpson (USA) despite showing excellent moves like this.

Pictured: No waves today on offer in Lacanau.

Credit: ©ASP/Lodin

GRANDE PLAGE, Lacanau – France (Thursday, August 15, 2013) – Unexistant swell today in Lacanau forced organizers to call competition off at the 8AM Call. Surfers from the Round of 64 will have a day to rest and re-energize before things get serious with all the event’s top seeds entering the show.

“Conditions are as predicted, with a non-consistent 0.5Ft swell,” Rob Gunning, ASP Europe tour manager said. “We had no choice but to call competition off for the day and we’ll come back tomorrow morning at 8am to re-assess conditions. The forecast calls for a new swell on the weekend so we should see the Soöruz Lacanau Pro resume in good surf.”

The 2013 Soöruz Lacanau Pro is scheduled from August 13-18, 2013 at Grande Plage, Lacanau – France. For all results, photos, video highlights, press releases and LIVE webcast, log on to aspeurope.com.

To access our complimentary high-res images, please go to 

The Sooruz Lacanau Pro is made possible with the support of the following event partners: Soöruz, Airwalk, Ice Watches, NRJ, Red Bull and Smurfit amongst others.


Heat 1: Ramzi Boukhiam (MAR), Sidney Guimaraes (BRA), Connor O’Leary (AUS), Imanol Yeregi (EUK) 

Heat 2: Joan Duru (FRA), Chris Friend (AUS), Leandro Usuna (ARG), Jose Ferreira (PRT) 

Heat 3: Alex Ribeiro (BRA), Cory Arrambide (USA), Jordin Watson (AUS), Soli Bailey (AUS) 

Heat 4: Peterson Crisanto (BRA), Marco Fernandez (BRA), David Van Zyl (ZAF), Natxo Gonzalez (EUK) 

Heat 5: Jesse Mendes (BRA), Kaito Ohashi (JNP), Hiroto Arai (JPN), Medi Veminardi (REU) 

Heat 6: Jonathan Gonzalez (CNY), Gony Zubizarreta (ESP), Ryan Callinan (AUS), Dylan Lightfoot (ZAF) 

Heat 7: Charles Martin (GLP), Marlon Lipke (PRT), Ian Gouveia (BRA), Diego Mignot (FRA) 

Heat 8: Aritz Aranburu (EUK), Pedro Henrique (BRA), Steven Pierson (PYF), Francisco Bellorin (VEN) 

Heat 9: Marc Lacomare (FRA), Paul Cesar Distinguin (FRA), Thiago Guimaraes (BRA), Timothee Bisso (GLP) 

Heat 10: Conner Coffin (USA), Santiago Muniz (ARG), Jake Davis (USA), Bruno Rodrigues (BRA)

Heat 11: Maxime Huscenot (FRA), Bino Lopes (BRA), Nathaniel Curran (USA), Chase Wilson (USA)

Heat 12: Krystian Kymerson (BRA), Romain Cloitre (FRA), Edouard Delpero (FRA), Balaram Stack (USA) 

Heat 13: David Do Carmo (BRA), Gavin Gillette (HAW), Frederico Morais (PRT), Nicolas Remi (FRA)

Heat 14: Vincent Duvignac (FRA), Nic Von Rupp (DEU), Mateia Hiquily (PYF), Nobuyuki Osawa (JPN) 

Heat 15: Billy Stairmand (NZL), Vicente Romero (ESP), Romain Laulhe (FRA), Oney Anwar (IDN) 

Heat 16: Willian Cardoso (BRA), Vasco Ribeiro (PRT), Nomme Mignot (FRA), Halley Batista (BRA) 

Find Upcoming Events

All upcoming national events and initiatives taking place around New Zealand

Find a Surf School

Get a lesson today. All of our approved surf schools located around New Zealand

Find a Club

Join a boardrider club and become part of the local surfing community

Register For a Course

Become an internationally accredited surf instructor

Major Partners

Community Partners

Industry Partners

Media Partners