//new tag to give link attribution window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-41543440-1', { 'link_attribution': true });

Billabong Pro Tahiti Round 1 ON at Teahupo’o, Round 2 on Standby

Share this article


TEAHUPO’O, Tahiti (Thursday, August 15, 2013) – Round 1 of the Billabong Pro Tahiti has been called ON this morning in clean three-to-four foot (1 – 1.5 metre) waves at Teahupo’o with competition commencing at 7:30am. With good conditions on offer today, event organizers have placed Round 2 of competition on standby for a possible start this afternoon.

Stop No. 6 of 10 on the 2013 ASP World Championship Tour (WCT), the Billabong Pro Tahiti has been a staple on the ASP Dream Tour for over a decade, annually testing the tube-riding skills of the world’s best surfers at the infamous reef pass of Teahupo’o.

“We’re going to capitalize on the building swell and clean conditions this morning and get underway with Round 1 at 7:30am,” Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge said. “We expect to complete Round 1 and potentially start Round 2, but will monitor conditions throughout the day and make the call accordingly. Good luck to all our competitors today.”

Up first this morning will be Nat Young (USA), 22, Bede Durbidge (AUS), 30, and Patrick Gudauskas (USA), 27, in Heat 1 Round 1 of the Billabong Pro Tahiti.

The Billabong Pro Tahiti will be webcast LIVE via www.billabongpro.com

For more information, log onto www.aspworldtour.com

Heat 1:
Nat Young (USA), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 2: Taj Burrow (AUS), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Nathan Hedge (AUS)
Heat 3: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Travis Logie (ZAF), Alan Riou (PYF)
Heat 4: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Kolohe Andino (USA), Anthony Walsh (AUS)
Heat 5: Kelly Slater (USA), Brett Simpson (USA), Ian Walsh (HAW)
Heat 6: Mick Fanning (AUS), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Jocelyn Poulou (PYF)
Heat 7: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Kieren Perrow (AUS)
Heat 8: Michel Bourez (PYF), Kai Otton (AUS), Yadin Nicol (AUS)
Heat 9: Josh Kerr (AUS), Gabriel Medina (BRA), Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Heat 10: C.J. Hobgood (USA), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 11: Julian Wilson (AUS), John John Florence (HAW), Miguel Pupo (BRA)
Heat 12: Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Filipe Toledo (BRA), Damien Hobgood (USA)

Find Upcoming Events

All upcoming national events and initiatives taking place around New Zealand

Find a Surf School

Get a lesson today. All of our approved surf schools located around New Zealand

Find a Club

Join a boardrider club and become part of the local surfing community

Register For a Course

Become an internationally accredited surf instructor

Major Partners

Community Partners

Industry Partners

Media Partners