//new tag to give link attribution window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-41543440-1', { 'link_attribution': true });

Atlantic Storm Forces Competition OFF at Cascais Billabong Pro

Share this article


Jeremy Flores (FRA) will hit the water first when the event resumes.

Pictured: Jeremy Flores (FRA) will hit the water first when the event resumes. 

Credit: © ASP/Masurel

PRAIA DE CARCAVELOS, Cascais – Portugal (Thursday, October 24, 2013) – A heavy storm front with strong onshore winds and messy wind-swells forced event officials to call competition OFF on Day 4 of the ASP Prime Cascais Billabong Pro.

Event No. 6 of 8 on the 2013 ASP Prime Series, the Cascais Billabong Pro completed the first two rounds of competition in challenging conditions over the past two days and will wait for an improved situation to resume.

“We all knew this was coming to us today, a proper storm hit the coast with really strong winds  that make it impossible to run any competition today,” Pritamo Ahrendt, ASP Head Judge stated. “We’ve called a Lay Day and will be back bright and early tomorrow to re-assess and probably re-start the event.”

The next call will be held at 7:45am tomorrow at the primary venue of Carcavelos.

Up first when competition recommences will be Jeremy Flores (FRA), Dion Atkinson (AUS), Raoni Monteiro (BRA) and Krystian Kymerson (BRA).

The ASP Prime Cascais Pro is scheduled from October 21-27, 2013 in Cascais, Portugal. For all results, photos, video highlights, press releases and LIVE webcast, log on to aspeurope.com/cascais

The Cascais Pro is supported by the Cascais City Council, Turismo de Portugal, Moche, EDP, Buondi, Allianz, Jogos, Mini, Brisa, Hertz, Comboios de Portugal, TakeOFF, RTP, Cidade FM, FuelTV, Go-S.TV, Jornal i, Surf Onfire, Magicseaweed, Surf Europe and BeachCam among others.


Heat 12: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Dion Atkinson (AUS), Raoni Monteiro (BRA), Krystian Kymerson (BRA)


Heat 1: Mitch Crews (AUS), Willian Cardoso (BRA), Bede Durbidge (AUS) 

Heat 2: Carlos Munoz (CRI), Charles Martin (GLP), Gabriel Medina (BRA) 

Heat 3: Jonathan Gonzalez (CNY), Damien Hobgood (USA), Maxime Huscenot (FRA) 

Heat 4: Jay Thompson (AUS), Conner Coffin (USA), C.J Hobgood (USA) 

Heat 5: Kiron Jabour (HAW), Wade Carmichael (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA) 

Heat 6: Alejo Muniz (BRA), Granger Larsen (HAW), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) 

Heat 7: Travis Logie (ZAF), TBD, Adam Melling (AUS) 

Heat 8: TBD, Tanner Gudauskas (USA), Thiago Camarao (BRA) 

Find Upcoming Events

All upcoming national events and initiatives taking place around New Zealand

Find a Surf School

Get a lesson today. All of our approved surf schools located around New Zealand

Find a Club

Join a boardrider club and become part of the local surfing community

Register For a Course

Become an internationally accredited surf instructor

Major Partners

Community Partners

Industry Partners

Media Partners